Creature Comforts vs. Materialism

I haven’t come with answers today. I’ve come hungry and searching. If you wanted the put-together version, it’s not here.

I was always the one who loved creature comforts. I love my bed, blankets and stuffed penguin. I love dressing up nicely with my collection of earrings and scarves and cowboy boots. I love books and BBC Austen dramas.

Yet I dreamt of African soil and people too.
When the pastor despaired of missionaries going out, I was on my knees crying because I so wanted to go.

I don’t doubt He has called some to go to Africa but for some of us, the call is to live radically in the village we were born in; in materialistic Britain, I can’t help wonder if this is the harder calling. James speaks of true religion and I so often focus on the first part – taking care of widows and orphans – and forget the second: to live unpolluted by the world.

God gave us good things. And yet materialism is a sin I’ve been caught in way too often. Where is the balance? How do we live radically sold-out lives and still finish degrees, do the cleaning, have lunch with friends, buy a new dress?

Where is the balance because I know there is one. I don’t think a God who made butterflies can be accused of hating beautiful things. Yet He also commands stewardship. How can I claim to care for those less fortunate and yet spend money on jewellery? WHERE IS THE BALANCE? What is the answer? Has anyone found it?

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave any comments below

