Why I Write On Empty Toilet Rolls

You know in a family how you all have quirks that annoy the living daylights out of the other members (and I can say this knowing I’m the most quirky in our family!)?  There is one thing that really annoys me: people leaving the empty cardboard tube when they finish a toilet roll.  I mean, seriously!  It used to be enough that I’d grab the empty toilet roll and march around the house, demanding someone own up to leaving it there.

Well, it wasn’t quite that dramatic (…all the time…*rueful smile*) but I did seethe many a time.

Then it occurred to me that this wasn’t exactly pleasing God and it certainly wasn’t helping anyone, not even me.

Now, my family try their best.  They do. But occasionally they forget.  And an empty toilet roll is left.

I can’t change that.

What I can change is my attitude.

A quick prayer is fine but sometimes you need to do something physical (and no, flinging the toilet roll at someone was NOT an option).

So this is why I spent a few minutes this evening doing something a little weird: sitting on the bathroom floor, with a pen, writing on an empty cardboard tube.  That’s my strategy: when someone leaves an empty toilet roll, I write a cool verse or quote on it.  It’s hard to remain mad when you’re writing a blessing down (and it’s also fun), plus it blesses the other people in the house too.

So it started with “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me…” (yes, a little tongue-in-cheek there) to tonight’s “Be yourself.  Everyone else is taken” (Oscar Wilde).

People are going to annoy you.  That’s life, particularly if you’re living with other human beings.  And sometimes we need little reminders that it’s not life-threatening, it’s annoying.  Difference.

Write on toilet roll tubes, leave notes, make smiley faces in the dust…whatever.

I’m just attempting to take an annoyance and change it into a blessing.

5 thoughts on “Why I Write On Empty Toilet Rolls

  1. Naomi says:

    Haha, my husband hates that too, he now puts all the toilet roll middles he comes across on my bedside cabinet because I obviously want to keep them…

  2. elspeth says:

    I LOVE this idea! Just yesterday, I was puzzling over what creative thing I could do with toilet roll tubes (it is one of my pet hates too, and large families use lots!), and there was your post- as if you had read my mind. I am SO using your idea, if you don’t mind.

    But as a principle the whole dealing with annoying people by blessing them is a good one! It brings everything back into perspective.

    Thanks for sharing!

    x

    p.s. I am a big fan of that Oscar Wilde quote too- this post was all good!

    • beckaanne says:

      Isn’t it silly how small things upset us if we let them?! Have fun writing. 🙂 Already got my next quote lined up… (Attitudes are contagious – is yours worth catching?)

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave any comments below

