The Spray Paint Of Condemnation

Imagine yourself.  Imagine that all over you God has written, in His beautiful handwriting, His words for you.

Child.

     Beautiful.

          Unique.

              Adored.

                  Saved.

                      Redeemed.

                          Called.

 

Imagine those you love writing their words for you.

Sibling.

     Child.

          Funny.

               Bold.

                    Silly.

                         Admired.

                             Loved.

Then imagine standing still and letting someone spray black paint over each word.  The barbs of that black paint will go deep.  The paint will seep into you.

What was a work of art is defaced.

Is shamed.

Is bruised and hurting.

It sounds silly but the picture is helping me.  If condemnation were spray paint, I wonder how covered in it we would be at the end of each day.  I wonder how much we would have actually noticed being sprayed on.

Since writing my last yellow days post, I’ve started noticing how attacked I am as a human being.  My boyfriend compliments me and a little voice inside of me rips it apart before I can store it in my heart.  I let that ‘voice’ have control and what I’ve come to realise: it has NO right to that control!  We are children of God – He is the only one who had the right to condemn us.  And if we stood before Him, took the grace He offered through Christ dying for us, and accepted that, accepted we were too messed up to crawl out of our own mess – He does not condemn us and no one else has the right!  “Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.” (Romans 8v.1).

The follow through – ANY condemnation needs to be silenced in our lives.

(And before I get too carried away – I’m not talked about when God confronts us about sin.  Although I feel He confronts us on that to tear away the sin, building us more into the person He made us for, rather than to just make us feel lousy and useless.  If He breaks, He mends.)

I’m going to stand on that – on that verse from Romans 8.  I’m going to stop letting that voice sow seeds of worry, fear, anxiety…negativity.

At the end of the day, I stand before my Saviour.  Not before any other judge.

2 thoughts on “The Spray Paint Of Condemnation

  1. elspeth says:

    Hey Becky,

    It’s really nice to find your blog! I stumbled across it through Naomi Bowen’s blog. Perhaps you don’t remember me, but I just wanted to say ‘hi’ and thanks for your writing, it’s been interesting reading! =)

    Elspeth McLachlan
    x

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave any comments below

